100% Compra Segura

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Compra Segura

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.Visit Juno DJ

Eight Weeks: Dancehall/Ragga

Inicio  Eight Weeks  

Dancehall / Ragga

Artículos del 1 al 11 de 11 en la página 1 de 1
Subscribe to our weekly Dancehall/Ragga emails
Everything Is Fine (Chuggy mix)
Everything Is Fine (Chuggy mix) (140 gram vinyl 12")
Cat: ERC 106. Rel: 12 Oct 20
  1. Everything Is Fine (3:18)
  2. Everything Dub (3:25)
  3. Everything Is Fine (Chuggy Discomix) (7:23)
Review: To close the 3 EP reissue series of Neville King and Lee Laing's King & City label, the all female group Charisma are presented with their summer infused Lovers cut, Everything Is Fine.

Three Lewisham friends, Angela Richardson on lead vocals, with Geselle and Janie backing, were active from 1982 to 1990, but are really remembered for the early recordings made with Neville King. Their debut, Everything Is Fine rides the Lovers sound at its peak. Written with One Blood's Lloyd Robinson, with the rest of band of Robinson brothers providing the rhythm section, this is pure South London sound system music.

Recorded again at TMC (Tooting Music Centre) Recording Studios - working alongside the likes of Dillinger, Tradition and New Musik - Everything Is Fine rides a beautiful soul reggae rhythm as Trevor (Drums) and Lloyd (Bass) Robinson set the foundations, while One Blood provide the Dub mix.

A true love's lament, a song of hope, serenity and pure vibes. Label head Chuggy slides behind the mixing desk for an extended Discomix that stretches, loops and dubs the vocal and dub back forth, to close a glimpse at this uniquely British phenomenon, taking reggae closer to it's heart and soul.
Read more
 in stock $12.24
Heartical Respect
Cat: CGI 12009. Rel: 07 Oct 20
  1. Heartical Respect (3:36)
  2. Sounds For All (Dubspect) (3:43)
Review: The late, great Sugar Minott apparently recorded 'Heartical Respect' back in the mid-1980s with dancehall producers George Bell and Priest, though this is the first time it has officially been released. Minott's slick, soulful and rootsy voice is the perfect accompaniment to the track's punchy dancehall drums, sub-heavy bassline, clipped guitars, dark synth-strings and piano stabs. It's a fine track, all told, and it seems remarkable that it has remained unissued - or at least in the UK - for so long. The flipside dub-style 'Version' is naturally rather good too, with Bell and Priest eschewing Minott's vocal in favour of even weightier sub-bass and tougher dancehall drums.
Read more
 in stock $15.87
Be Thankful (Lexx mix)
Be Thankful (Lexx mix) (140 gram vinyl 12")
Cat: ERC 104. Rel: 28 Sep 20
  1. Be Thankful (7:57)
  2. Be Thankful (Lexx Discomix) (7:24)
Review: Emotional Rescue are turning their attention to King & City, a label that dealt in the UK-rooted take on reggae, lovers rock, at the turn of the '80s. First up is this sublime cover of William DeVaughn's evergreen, much-covered soul classic 'Be Thankful For What You Got'. This take is breezy and hopeful, but still shot through with a certain sense of longing in the tight riddim backing up the sweet vocals. On the flip, Emotional draft in one of their favourite remixers, the mighty Lexx, to deliver a disco mix that teases out the original and amps up the dub-outs for maximum groove satisfaction.
Read more
 in stock $12.24
Pull Up Dat
Cat: WONDER 158. Rel: 01 Oct 20
  1. Poirier & Red Fox - "Pull Up Dat" (2:30)
  2. Poirier & Patexx - "Unity & Strength" (2:49)
Review: Poirier's new album, Soft Power, is a vibrant and eclectic affair, with the long-serving Canadian producer twisting a wide range of musical influences - think Afrobeat, deep house, hip-hop, Latin beats, dub and dancehall - into thrilling new shapes. This limited edition seven-inch single boasts one of the album's more forthright, club-ready cuts: mutant dancehall number 'Pull Up Dat'. It's undeniably potent, with semi-regular collaborator Red Fox spitting bars over a riddim rich in 90's US garage organ sounds and punchy machine drums. On previously unheard flipside 'Unity & Strength', Patexx offers a positive, auto-tune-enabled message of love and strength over the same weighty Poirier backing track.
Read more
 in stock $9.19
Abused (7")
Cat: PHEU 022. Rel: 12 Nov 20
  1. RC & Romain Virgo - "Abused" (3:17)
  2. Slashe - "Friday" (3:17)
 in stock $6.96
Let Me Ease Your Pain
Cat: PHEU 020. Rel: 12 Nov 20
  1. Shuga - "Let Me Ease Your Pain" (feat Gentleman) (3:17)
  2. C Sharpe - "One Day At A Time" (3:17)
 in stock $6.96
The Invincible Beany Man: The 10 Year Old DJ Wonder
  1. Woman A Labba (3:32)
  2. Bony Punanny (2:56)
  3. Bright & Bare Face (3:18)
  4. Sound Boy Kuffing (3:07)
  5. Sleep With A Gal (3:30)
  6. Con Don (2:43)
  7. Girls Nowaday (3:57)
  8. Try Some Hustling (3:33)
  9. Insects Nuh Bother We (2:01)
  10. Granny Cooking (3:33)
 in stock $13.35
Boogie Down (reissue)
  1. Jailhouse (3:22)
  2. Heavy Rhythm (3:33)
  3. African Princess (3:32)
  4. Bend Your Back (3:04)
  5. Boogie Down (3:41)
  6. Bubble With Me (3:30)
  7. You Too Greedy (3:26)
  8. Go John Wayne Go (3:21)
  9. Murder Style (3:25)
  10. I Me Deep (3:21)
 in stock $16.69
Dub Trotter
Dub Trotter (LP + MP3 download code)
Cat: XRPVY 2006. Rel: 16 Oct 20
  1. L'ile Aux Canards (4:12)
  2. Nouma Hotel Room (4:08)
  3. Must Get Remixed (feat Peter Youthman & ODG) (4:23)
  4. Manila (3:52)
  5. Canada Airport (4:12)
  6. Iztapalapa In Dub (feat Bungalo dub) (3:56)
  7. Safe Guard (feat Blackout Ja) (3:55)
  8. Eurostar (3:21)
  9. Dub De 13 (feat Joseph Cotton) (3:57)
  10. Mexicali (4:26)
Review: Manudigital's long awaited latest EP was written while the beat maker was on tour around the world. Those days of hitting 20 countries for 130 gigs seem a long time ago now, but the music does a fine job of aural globetrotting. Lead single 'Canada Airport' was writing in the waiting hall of said airport and is a real fusion of techno, dub and dubstep. It has a heavy bottom end and dynamic drum work with some futurist synth lines, and the rest of the cuts take similar forms, with menacing moods or more upbeat grooves shrining through.
Read more
 in stock $15.58
The Skatalite (reissue)
The Skatalite (reissue) (180 gram audiophile vinyl LP)
Cat: MOVLP 2650. Rel: 28 Oct 20
  1. Yard Broom (3:15)
  2. Carry Go Bring Come (2:45)
  3. Twelve Minutes To Go (3:07)
  4. Magic (2:36)
  5. Strolling In (2:25)
  6. Dan De Lion (2:08)
  7. Apanga (3:01)
  8. Eastern Standard Time (3:15)
  9. Rough & Tough (3:00)
  10. Musical Store Room (2:22)
  11. When You Call My Name (3:28)
  12. River Bank (2:57)
 in stock $22.26
King Tubbys Presents Soundclash Dubplate Style (warehouse find, slight sleeve wear)
  1. King Everald - "Kill Ole Pan" (3:03)
  2. Johnny Osbourne - "Line Up" (4:09)
  3. Trever (Pan Bird) Levy - "Nah Run From No Clash" (3:58)
  4. Banana Man - "Take A Lick" (3:33)
  5. Michael Bitas - "Die Yu Die" (3:17)
  6. Gregory Isaacs - "The Ruler" (3:43)
  7. Little John - "Fade Away" (3:51)
  8. Sugar Minott - "Play Me" (4:03)
  9. Conroy Smith - "Orignal Sound" (3:50)
  10. Pad Anthony - "Charge Dem" (3:45)
  11. King Tubbys - "Kill A Pan" (dub) (3:50)
  12. King Tubbys - "Tan Good" (dub) (3:37)
  13. King Tubbys - "Nah Run Weh" (dub) (4:49)
  14. King Tubbys - "Lick Shot" (dub) (4:00)
  15. King Tubbys - "Death Row" (dub) (3:37)
  16. King Tubbys - "We Rule" (dub) (3:50)
  17. King Tubbys - "Fade Out" (dub) (3:44)
  18. King Tubbys - "Play Play" (dub) (3:53)
  19. King Tubbys - "Brand New Sound" (dub) (3:29)
  20. King Tubbys - "Make Them Pay" (dub) (4:00)
 in stock $22.26
Artículos del 1 al 11 de 11 en la página 1 de 1


Eight Weeks: Dancehall/Ragga