Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily

100% Compra Segura

Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio

100% Compra Segura

DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Kent Dance

Inicio  Labels  

Kent Dance

Artículos del 1 al 10 de 10 en la página 1 de 1
Didn't I?
Didn't I? (7")
Cat: CITY 027A/B. Rel: 24 Feb 12
  1. Didn't I?
  2. Saving My Love
Review: Goosepimples aplenty as Kent Records pulls out its ace card with a superb slice of feel good classic soul music from Darondo. Darondo, who was bought up in the San Franciso Bay area, led a colourful life, becoming a Pimp in the 1960s. He eventually gave that up and knocked out this wonderful piece of guitar balladry. Underneath a sublime Al Green/Curtis Mayfield like vocal performance you'll discover a simple string arrangement that compliments Darondo's falsetto vocal to brilliant effect. No doubt this will feature as one of the best 45 soul reissues of 2012.
Read more
 in stock $11.12
Ready Or Not Here Comes Love
  1. Carolyn Crawford - "Ready Or Not Here Comes Love" (2:26)
  2. Hodges, James, Smith & Crawford - "What Made You Think" (3:11)
Review: We'd advise serious soul heads to take a look at this one. Part of the "Kent Select" series of dancefloor-focused 45s, it features two previously unissued 1971 recordings, both of which were produced by Mickey Stevenson. In some ways, it's incredible to think that Carolyn Crawford's "Ready Or Not Here Comes Love" has never previously been released; it's a genuinely inspired, up-lifting slab of soaring, stomping soul that will get Northern Soul enthusiasts racing for the dancefloor in their droves. Flipside "What Made You Think", credited to Hodges, James, Smith and Crawford, is almost as good, even if it lacks the rushing, celebratory positivity of the sublime A-side. In a word: essential!
Read more
 in stock $11.40
Mod Jazz
Mod Jazz (gatefold heavyweight coloured vinyl 2xLP)
Cat: HIQLP2 011. Rel: 17 Jun 13
  1. Shirley Scott - "Soul Shoutin'"
  2. Freddie McCoy - "Collard Greens"
  3. Cannonball Adderley Sextet - "Tengo Tango"
  4. Mark Murphy - "Why Don't You Do Right?"
  5. Jimmy Witherspoon - "Money's Gettin' Cheaper"
  6. The Nomos - "Step Out & Git It..."
  7. Brother Jack - "Theme From The Carpet Baggers"
  8. Johnny Hammon Smith - "Theme From NYPD (The ABC TV Series)"
  9. Billy Hawks - "Whip It On Me"
  10. Cal Tjader - "Evil Ways"
  11. Mongo Santamaria - "Yeh, Yeh!"
  12. Mongon Santamaria - "Watermelon Man"
  13. Mose Allison - "The Seventh Son"
  14. Otis Spann - "I'm Ready"
  15. Willis Jackson - "Pool Shark"
  16. Sonny Stitt - "Soul Shack"
  17. Eddie Jefferson - "Filthy McNasty"
  18. Jimmy Witherspoon - "Love Me Right"
  19. Pat Bowie - "i've Got Your Number"
  20. Charles Earland - "Black Talk"
  21. The Merced Blue Notes - "Mama Rufus"
  22. Rusty Bryant - "Soul Liberation"
  23. Boogaloo Joe Jones - "Games"
  24. Kenny Burrell - "Kenny's Theme"
  25. Brother Jack McDuff - "Theme From The Pink Panther" (with The Big Band Of Benny Golson)
Review: Originally compiled by Adrian Croasdell in 1996, Kent Dance have re-released this great compendium on coloured vinyl. Searching the mod jazz genre's true meaning, the collection reveals the many twists and turns it took throughout the 60s. From Latin influences ("Tengo Tango") to rich, blues and soul influences ("I'm Ready") via straight-up rhythm and blues influences with barely any traces of jazz at all ("Whip It On Me"), Mod Jazz is a fantastic representation of one of the most divisive genres in 1960s youth music.
Read more
 in stock $25.37
When The Boy That You Love (Is Loving You)
  1. When The Boy That You Love (Is Loving You) (2:51)
  2. Everybody Knows (2:44)
 in stock $11.12
(What Are We Gonna Do About) This Mess
Cat: CITY 068. Rel: 27 Feb 20
  1. (What Are We Gonna Do About) This Mess (2:51)
  2. Honey Can I (4:06)
 in stock $9.97
Just A Mistake
Cat: CITY 065. Rel: 27 Feb 20
  1. The Ebonettes - "Just A Mistake" (2:40)
  2. Little Ann - "Lean Lanky Daddy" (2:06)
Intérprete: Originals
 in stock $11.40
I Wonder What My Baby's Doing Tonight
  1. Maxine Brown - "I Wonder What My Baby's Doing Tonight" (2:25)
  2. Chuck Jackson - "Two Stupid Feet" (2:32)
Review: Maxine Brown and Chuck Jackson are two of Wnad Records's finest singing talents, as well as being firm favourites of the Kent label. For that reason they are paired up on this vital 7", which provides DJs with some high grade weaponry. They tackle popular songs from Van McCoy and Luther Dixon respectively. with Brown serving up the super short but sweet "I Wonder What My Baby's Doing Tonight", a soul gem that will make your heart soar. Chuck Jackson's "Two Stupid Feet" is more slow motion and mellow, but makes just as much of an emotional impact.
Read more
 in stock $11.40
New Neighborhood
Cat: CITY 055. Rel: 26 Oct 18
  1. New Neighborhood (2:14)
  2. I'm Lonely For You (2:26)
Intérprete: Juno Recommends Soul
 in stock $8.84
New Breed R&B: Saturday Night Special
Cat: CDKEND 492. Rel: 30 Jul 20
  1. Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens - "Saturday Night"
  2. The Corvairs - "I'll Never Do It Again"
  3. Prince Conley - "Ain't That Good"
  4. Rob Robinson - "Compact Baby"
  5. Esko Wallace - "Triple Zero"
  6. Freddie Williams - "Purdy Little Mama"
  7. Margaret Lewis - "Something's Wrong Baby"
  8. Flora D - "Way Out Baby"
  9. Slim & The Twilights - "Family Man"
  10. Big Charley & The Domans - "You're Gonna Need Me"
  11. Johnny Watson - "Wait A Minute Baby"
  12. King Solomon - "Almost Midnight"
  13. The Lon Genes - "Show Me How To Shake Like That"
  14. Gay Meadows - "Head Doctor"
  15. Pee Wee Foster - "You Can Be My Honey"
  16. Pat Garvis - "Turn Your Lamp Down Low"
  17. The Tren Teens - "Your Yah Yah Is Gone"
  18. Jarvis Jackson - "The Long John"
  19. Sterling Magee - "Tighten Up & Pull Yourself Together"
  20. Johnny Talbot - "Satisfied"
  21. Tony Clarke - "Love Must Be Taboo"
  22. JD Wright & The Metallics - "I'll Conquer The World"
  23. Little Macey & The Valiants - "Walking The Track"
  24. Curley Mays - "I'm Walkin' On"
 in stock $10.84
Northern Soul's Classiest Rarities Volume 7
Cat: CDKEND 498. Rel: 26 Feb 21
  1. Carolyn Crawford - "Ready Or Not Here Comes Love"
  2. Kim Weston - "It Takes A Lotta Teardops"
  3. Melvin Hicks & The Versatiles - "The Intruder"
  4. The Lovers - "She's Supreme"
  5. Isaiah Smith - "Why Would You Blow It"
  6. Rocky Gil - "It's Not The End"
  7. Harvey & Seven Sounds - "It's Midnight"
  8. Little Nicky Soul - "You Said"
  9. The Esquires - "You Don't Care"
  10. Brothers Of Soul - "I Need Your Love"
  11. Joe Buckner & Major IV - "I Wish I Knew"
  12. Slick & The Family Brick - "I'll Fly To Your Open Arm"
  13. Ray Gant & Arabian Knights - "I Need A True Love"
  14. Joe Hicks - "Don't It Make You Feel Funny"
  15. John Wesley & The Four Tees - "Love Is Such A Funny Thing"
  16. The Hesitations - "Soul Kind Of Love"
  17. Joe Douglas - "Crazy Things"
  18. Two Cats & A Mouse - "Love In My Heart"
  19. The Performers - "Farewell Goodbye My Love" (edit)
  20. Major Lance - "Girl, Come On Home"
  21. Jean Battle - "I've Got To Come In"
  22. The Lyrics - "So Glad"
  23. The Perfections - "The Right To Cry"
  24. The Exits - "Under The Street Lamp"
coming soon $13.67
Artículos del 1 al 10 de 10 en la página 1 de 1


Kent Dance
Release Date